Life Outside The Institute, part 1

I haven’t written much about life in Model Colony – Pune India. Or, at least my observation of life in India. It’s very different compared to any place I’ve ever been. The experience is not what you would call a relaxing vacation. Luxury hotel? Nope. Sitting under an umbrella gazing at the beach, drinking slushy drinks? Nope. I’m very fortunate that my flat is very nice. The accommodations are perfect for basic needs. I still can not get used to the bucket/pitcher bath. Luckily, I have a western toilet. Sometimes there is hot water, and sometimes not. I’m drinking only bottled water, as well as brushing my teeth with bottled water to reduce my risk of catching an intestinal virus. Washing my clothes in a bucket is not so bad, but still you become aware of all the luxuries you depend on day in and day out. There are power outages throughout the day. It’s interesting how you expect the internet to work fast and for it to at least work 24/7. They beds are hard, with a small thin mattress on top of wood. Oh, how I miss my tempurpedic! I did put two mattresses on top of each other, and now my hips are happy. The food is delicious for us who like Indian food. I do miss having a fresh salad though. I don’t eat food that is not cooked here, once again I don’t want to chance the intestinal virus. Everyone longs for that favorite food they love back at home…(yes family and students, you know what food I miss most). My mouth is watering right now just thinking about it. The people of India are beautiful. I love the colorful clothing. It amazes me how everyone is always cleaning and sweeping, yet it never really gets clean (once again personal perception and definition of what is clean is really about what you as an individual are accustomed to…..it’s just different). Some of you know that little “head bobble” everyone does around here, it can mean yes, yet it can mean no, and why is it that every time I go to the store, someone cuts in line right in front of me? That can be frustrating to say the least. I was in the market today, and the vegetables first have to be weighed and marked before going to the cash register. Everyone kept cutting in line…wait, there was a line, yet there was no line…can’t you see that I was standing here first? Everyone just does what they need to do, just like the traffic. The lessons about myself I’m learning on this journey aren’t just being taught in the studio. More on the traffic next time…to be continued.

Okay, for my yoga junkies… Geeta taught the Women’s Class on Saturday. All Inversions! My favorite, Ha! (some of you will get that one). This is a great inversion sequence to practice at home:

AMV
AMS
Urdhva Hastasana
Uttanasansa – feet mat width apart, hands around ankles.
Interlace hands behind back. Roll shoulders back.
Urdhva Hastasana, widen arms, then move from elbows only to UH
Adho Mukha Vrksanana, with right leg, then left
Urdhva Hastasana, with belt proximal to elbow
Adho Mukha Vrksanana, with belt
Pincha Mayurasana, hands holding block – (outer edges of hands – little finger side) first right leg then left leg.
Pincha Mayurasana again, with traditional hands, right leg then left. All done with rolled stiky mat under elbows.
Sirsasana, interlace fingers right little finger on floor, then again with left little finger on floor.
Sirsasana again, right little finger on floor and raise left leg up as high as you can, then do right leg.
Sirsasana again, same as above allowing bottom leg to lift off the floor into Sirsasana. Do both sides. (No jumping, no hopping, do slowly and keep legs straight).
Tadasana, straight a way after sirsasana. Interlace fingers behind back chin up eyes up.
Ardha Sirsasana
Tadasana, same as before
Urdhva Dandasana – feet at wall, hug thighs into the hip sockets and raise the buttocks up. Then walk the feet down the wall to Ardha Sirsasana.
Tadasana, hands in fists – extend thumbs down. Then interlace fingers behind back chin up eyes up.
Urdhva Dandasana, free form – feet from floor half way.
Setubanda Sarvangasana, with block
Chatushpadasana
Setubanda Sarvangasana, hands under back ribs
Salamba Sarvangasana I
Salamba Sarvangasana II
Nirlamba I – arms forward
Nirlamba II – arms straight up towards ceiling along sides of trunk
Svanasana

Gulnaz and I in her new studio.

20130616-214129.jpg

6 thoughts on “Life Outside The Institute, part 1

  1. everything sounds very exotic, and unique to us who hav not been…THE YOGA DESCRPTIONS ARE GREAT! but…your chips…oh

Leave a Reply

